Go Green, Have Babies

Sorry Mr. President, I can’t afford a hybrid right now. By the time I can I”ll probably have too many kids to fit into one. I know you recommend the hybrid van, but they don’t actually make one that seats twelve. I guess I’m going to have to keep stomping my carbon footprint all over poor Mother Earth. If I’m allowed that is, once the UN endows Her with Human Rights. Actually, I’m probably as cut up about it as you are. I would love to save on the price of gas. What with all the mouths to feed I’m looking to save wherever I can. Funny thing is, I think you’d be surprised how on the same page we are. Your wife wants my kids to eat healthy. They do, because it’s cheap to eat healthy. I save the landfill pounds of non-biodegradable waste with my cloth diapers, because they’re cheaper. Today I’m mounting my laundry line in the backyard, because that dryer is sucking the money right out of my pockets at about the same rate it’s sucking Earth killing power. I don’t use Charmin Twenty-Ply toilet paper because I feel like I’m flushing pure gold down the toilet. Heck I don’t even flush the toilet at night since it might wake a precariously sleeping baby. How’s that for water conservation? Right and left I’m looking for ways to cut back and finding that most of them happen to be Green. Looking around at the “big” (read 3+ child) families I know, they are, for the most part, living with less square footage, buying fewer things and consuming significantly less resources per capita than their neighbours. Of course there are plenty of small families and single folk shopping with reusable trash bags, driving hybrids, and timing their showers, but I do think research would find that large families are not in the category of worst contributers to environmental damage. I find that sacrificing things is easier when you do them for the children you love rather than for the Planet. Yet somehow it seems the one thing the modern world is most willing to sacrifice is having children.

Leave a comment

Filed under Current Events, Motherhood

Leave a Reply

